Harbour Crossings October 9th

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

New COO of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority
Duncan Pescod, former Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing), becomes the COO of WKCDA. Mr Pescod has served in the Government for 32 years and only retired this April. His extensive experience is going to be put to the test given the complexity of the project and the seeming inability of anyone in Hong Kong to run a project on budget given runaway construction costs. He may wish he had stayed retired, but to paraphrase Princess Leia, “Obi Pescod, you’re our only hope!”

Re-appointment of SFC Chief Executive Officer
Ashley Alder is re-appointed as the CEO of SFC. He has been in the post since 2011 and has been working in SFC since 2001. He was formerly the Head of Asia of the international law firm Herbert Smith LLP in Hong Kong.

Recruitment of Director of Broadcasting
The Government began its open recruitment and in-service appointment exercise for the post of the Director of Broadcasting on September 26th. Korn/Ferry International (HK) Ltd was hired to handle the recruitment. Among several requirements, applicants must be permanent residents of the HKSAR and have at least 15 years of experience at a senior level, preferably with a large public or private organisation. The Government has also issued an internal vacancy circular to invite serving substantive Directorate Officers at Directorate Pay Scale Point 2 (D2) or above, or equivalent to apply for the post. All applications should be submitted to the agency by October 24th.

Appointments to Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board
Cynthia Chung Wing-suet (鍾詠雪), Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping (鄺鳳萍) and Miranda So (蘇雯華) are appointed as Chairman, Deputy Chairman and new member to the Board respectively. Ms Chung is a solicitor and has been Deputy Chairman of the Board since 2012.

Ivy Cheung Wing-han (張穎嫻)
Dr Stella Cho Lung Pui-lan (左龍佩蘭)
Cecilia Lee Sau-Wai (李秀慧)

New Chairman to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform
John Scott (莊施格) will succeed Anderson Chow Ka-ming (周家明) as the new Chairman. Mr Scott is a senior counsel with broad civil practice experience. Mr Chow, now Justice Chow, will become the Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court.

Don’t smoke ‘em if you got ‘em: Appointments to Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH)
Antonio Kwong Cho-shing (鄺祖盛) and Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting (伍婉婷) assume the posts as Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively. Mr Kwong’s family is dubbed the ‘landlord of Kowloon City’ and he was in the Council since 2009. Ms Ng is a District Councilor in Causeway Bay.

Dr Mak Yiu-kwong (麥耀光)
Dr Joyce Tang Shao-fen (唐少芬)
Jason Wong Chun-tat (黃進達)
Chistopher Yu Wing-fai (余榮輝)

New members:
Ada Ho (何靜瑩)
Hsu Siu-man (徐小曼)
Gigi Pang Che-kwan (彭芷君)
Prof Samuel Wong Yeung-shan (黃仰山)

Appointments to the Transport Advisory Committee
Larry Kwok Lam-kwong (郭琳廣) is re-appointed as the Chairman. Mr Kwok is also the Chairman of the Independent Police Complaints Commission, which should be very very busy over the next few months. Will he have enough time for the Transport Advisory Committee? They couldn’t find another transport expert?

Shalini Mahtani (馬夏邐) is appointed to be a new member of the Committee. Ms Mahtani is the founders of Community Business and Zubin Foundation, and has received the Member of the Order of the British Empire medal from Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II for her services to corporate social responsibility in Hong Kong.

New Lingnan University Council Chairman
Rex Auyeung (歐陽伯權) will succeed Bernard Chan (陳智思) as the new Chairman to the Council. Mr Auyeung is currently the Senior Vice President and President of Asia Operations of Principal Financial Group.