Harbour Crossings April 2nd

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Two new committees on InnoTech and Fintech created in an appointments week.


InnoTech advisory committee established.

The Government announced the establishment of the Advisory Committee on Innovation and Technology to replace the Steering Committee on InnoTech. The Committee will be chaired by the Advisor to the Chief Executive on InnoTech Nicholas Yang (楊偉雄). IT lawmaker Charles Mok is not on the list.

Ex-officio Members:

  • Chairman of the HK Science and Technology Parks Corporation Mrs Fanny Law Fan Chiu-fun (羅范椒芬)
  • Chairman of the HK Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Ltd Mr Wong Ming-yam (王明鑫)
  • Chairman of the HK Productivity Council Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen (陳鎮仁)
  • Chairman of the Research Grants Council Professor Benjamin Wah Wan-sang (華雲生)


KC Chan to lead new Steering Group on Fintech.

The Government announced the establishment of a Steering Group on Financial Technologies with Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury KC Chan as its head. The Steering Group is responsible to advise the Financial Secretary on opportunities to develop Hong Kong into a fintech hub and the measures in accordance.

Official members appointments:

  • Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services), Mr Andrew Wong Ho-yuen (黃灝玄)
  • Under Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Henry Lau Jr (劉怡翔)
  • Commissioner for Innovation and Technology, Miss Janet Wong (王榮珍)
  • Director-General of Investment Promotion, Mr Simon Galpin (賈沛年)


Deputy Director in youth work appointed as Hong Kong’s deputy chief in Beijing.

Wang Zhimin (王志民), Deputy Director of the Liaison Office, was appointed as the deputy chief of the State Council’s Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office. Wang has been in charge of youth work in Hong Kong.


Appointments week in the Government.

The Government announced a number of appointments to various committees and boards.

Here is the list:

  1. Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene (link)
  2. Board of Trustees and Council of Lord Wilson Heritage Trust (link)
  3. Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education (link)
  4. Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee (link)
  5. Elderly Commission (link)
  6. Employees Retraining Board (link)
  7. Hong Kong Tourism Board (link)
  8. Hospital Authority Members (link)
  9. Housing Authority Members (link)
  10. Management Committee of the Consumer Legal Action Fund (link)
  11. Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal (link)
  12. Steering Committee of Pilot Green Transport Fund. (link)
  13. MPF Schemes Advisory Committee and MPF Industry Schemes Committee (link)


Division Head of HKMA Lillian Cheung promoted.

The Monetary Authority has approved the appointment of Ms Lillian Cheung, current Division Head of the Economic Research Division of the HKMA, as Executive Director (Research) and the Director of the Hong Kong Institute for Monetary Research.


Appointments of Senior Counsel.

Chief Justice Geoffrey Ma appointed 10 Senior Counsel with effect from May 2.


  • Mr Nigel Kat (祁志)
  • Mr Martin Hui Siu-ting (許紹鼎)
  • Mr Hectar Pun Hei (潘熙)
  • Mr David Leung Cheuk-yin (梁卓然)
  • Mr Jeremy Bartlett (包智力)
  • Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip (藍德業)
  • Mr Victor Dawes (杜淦堃)
  • Mr William Tam Yiu-ho (譚耀豪)
  • Mr Bernard Man (文本立)
  • Mr Wayne Walsh (華偉思)