Harbour Crossings April 24th

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

NPC member to head Education Commission; New names in the Pacific Basin Economic Council; Reshuffle in TVB.


NPC member named head of Education Commission.

CY Leung has appointed Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung (雷添良) as the Chairman of the Education Commission to replace the outgoing chairman Dr Moses Cheng (鄭慕智). Lui is currently the Chairman of Self-financing Post-secondary Education Fund Steering Committee, the ex-officio Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education as well as a member of the National People’s Congress.

Appointments to two Lump Sum Grant committees.

The Government appointed nine new members and re-appointed four incumbent members to the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee (LSGSC). It also appointed the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and four new members, and re-appointed two incumbent members to the Lump Sum Grant Independent Complaints Handling Committee (ICHC) will effect from April 22 for a term of two years.


New appointments (LSGSC):

  • Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching (陳綺貞)
  • Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming (周賢明)
  • Ms Michelle Cheng (鄭詩韻)
  • Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun (熊運信)
  • Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee (李正儀)
  • Ms Teresa Lee Siu-hong (李兆香)
  • Ms Rebecca Ng Pui-ling (伍佩玲)
  • Mr Sin Kin-ming (冼建明)
  • Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu (司徒永富)


New appointments (ICHC):

  • Dr David Dai Lok-kwan (戴樂群) – Chairman
  • Mr Albert Wong Shun-yee (王舜義) – Vice-chairman
  • Ms Ivy Au Yeung (歐陽麗玲)
  • Mr David Chan Wai-ming (陳偉明)
  • Mr Dennis Fong Wai-kuk (方緯谷)
  • Mr Raymond Wong Ka-ning (黃家寧)

Appointments to the High Court.

The Judiciary announced the four appointees as Judges of the Court of First Instance of the High Court with effect from April 24, 2015. The appointees include Her Honour Judge Bebe Pui Ying Chu (朱珮瑩), Principal Family Court Judge; His Honour Judge David Lok (陸啟康); His Honour Judge Joseph Yau Chi-lap (邱智立); and His Honour Judge Albert Wong Sung-hau (黃崇厚).

Changes to the TVB Board of Directors.

Mr Thomas Hui (許濤), managing director of a media group focusing on Greater China, has been named non-executive director of TVB. Hui will replace the resigning Ms Cher Wang (王雪紅), non-executive director of TVB and Chairwoman of the Taiwanese HTC Corporation.

Latin-American leaders to sit on the Pacific Basin Economic Council.

President of the Mexican Chamber of Commerce HK (MexCham) Mr Germán Muñoz, who has assumed the post since 2013, is named member and Board Director of the pro-business Pacific Basin Economic Council (PBEC). The MexCham is the only Latin-American chamber of commerce in Hong Kong and China. Mr Muñoz is joined by Chief Representative of Banco Security in Hong Kong and former Consul-General of Chile (2010-2014) Mr Mario Artaza.

HT Special:

‎Andrew Work (Harbour Times Ed-in-Chief) was re-elected President of The Canadian Club of Hong Kong. At their AGM, he stated the Club would take up their seat on the Board of The Canadian International School when an honest governance reform package was presented for a vote. Until then, their boycott, along with the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, continues.