Harbour Crossings June 19

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

New head for the OGCIO as the ITB tug of war drags on; Replacement for resigned URA Managing Director will leave after term expires.


Allen Yeung to head the OGCIO.

The Government announced the appointment of Ir Allen Yeung Tak-bun (楊德斌) as the new Chief Information Officer with effect from July 2, 2015. Yeung is an expert in the information and communications technology (ICT) field. He is now the Chief Corporate Development Officer of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation.


Government appoints Hong Kong representative to APEC advisory council.

The Chief Executive has appointed Dr Jonathan Choi (蔡冠深), Chairman of Sun Wah Group, as the Hong Kong, China representative to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Advisory Council (ABAC). Choi will replace outgoing representative Mr He Guangbei (和廣北).

Other Hong Kong representatives to the ABAC include Director of Jardine Matheson Holdings Limited Mr Anthony Nightingale (黎定基); Chairman of Lan Kwai Fong Group Dr Allan Zeman (盛智文); Chairman and Managing Director of Wheelock and Company Limited Mr Douglas Woo (吳宗權); and Executive Vice-Chairman and Joint General Manager of New World Development Company Limited Dr Adrian Cheng (鄭志剛).


Advisory committee on post-office employment for top officials appointed.

The Government has appointed Professor Liu Pak-wai (廖柏偉) to head the Advisory Committee on Post-office Employment for Former Chief Executives and Politically Appointed Officials, and Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen (趙麗娟) and Mr Thomas Brian Stevenson (施文信) as members with effect from July 1 for a term of two years. Liu is now a lecturer in Economics and was a Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the Chinese University.


Acting Managing Director for URA to leave after his term expires.

Mr Daniel Lam Chun (林濬) has been appointed as the interim Managing Director of the Urban Renewal Authority for ten months starting from next Monday to replace the resigned Iris Tam Siu-ying (譚小瑩). Chun was a non-official member of the URA since 2008 and a surveyor by profession.

He has confirmed that he will not apply for the position of Managing Director and will not stay in the URA Board as non-executive director after the current appointment.


Official appointments to Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission.

Current Law Society President Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun (熊運信) has been appointed as a member of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission. The Government also re-appointed Vice-Chancellor of CUHK Professor Joseph Sung Jao-yiu (沈祖堯) and Law Reform Commission member Mrs Eleanor Ling Lee Ching-man (林李靜文) as members of the Commission. The three members will serve in the body for a term of two years.