Harbour Crossings September 11

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Marine Department reshuffle; New law draftsman from the Oceania.


Deputy Marine chief as Hong Kong representative to EU.

Deputy Marine Director (Special Duties) Ms Shirley Lam Shuet-lai (林雪麗) will assume the role of Special Representative for Hong Kong Economic and Trade Affairs to the European Union on October 5, 2015.

Lam, 47, is an Administrative Officer with rich experience, having served the administration in the former Transport Branch; the former City and New Territories Administration; the former Regional Services Department; the former Planning, Environment and Lands Branch; the former Transport Bureau; the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau and the Food and Health Bureau. She was in Brussels once when working at the HKETO there and was Deputy Secretary for the Civil Service from October 2010 to May 2013 before being appointed to her current post.

Current Principal Assistant Secretary (Constitutional & Mainland Affairs)3, Mr Freely Cheng (鄭琪), will be the successor of Ms Lam while he Government is yet to announce the next destination of Ms Linda Lai Wai-ming (黎蕙明), current Special Representative for Hong Kong Economic and Trade Affairs to the European Union since October 2012.

This is the second personnel change to the Marine Department as Mr Michael Wong Wai-lun (黃偉綸), former Marine Director, was earlier promoted to the post of Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands).


Law drafter joins and law reformer stays.

Ms Theresa Ann Johnson (莊綺珊), 55, will head the Law Drafting Division of the Department of Justice and Law Draftsman starting from January 4, 2016. She will replace Mr Paul Wan (尹效良) who will complete his tenure in October.

Johnson spent nearly 30 years serving the Australian establishment, first as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland, then as a member of the Office of Parliamentary Counsel in Canberra and later in Queensland, where she advanced to the head post in 2010.

Meanwhile, Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching (鄧國楨), Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal, was re-appointed as a member of the Law Reform Commission for a second term with effect from October 1, 2015, for three years. The Commission is chaired by Secretary for Justice Rimsky Yuen.