Harbour Crossings December 31

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

First call of NYE: Arthur Li appointed as HKU Council chairman; Anti-Occupy figures to join police watchdog.


Midnight announcement: Arthur Li appointed as HKU Council chairman

The appointment of Mr Arthur Li (李國章) as chairman of the University of Hong Kong Council was finally announced despite strong oppositions within the university and among the public. The announcement, made at midnight, stated that Li will hold the post for a term of three years with effect from January 1, 2016.

The HKU Alumni Concern Group, the Academic Staff Association of The University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Professional Teachers’ Union all released statements condemning the appointment. HKUSU president Billy Fung, as a Council member himself, also vowed to be uncooperative with the governing body but stressed there would be no plan to organise class boycott at the moment.

Meanwhile, former head of Estate Agents Authority Ms Vivien Chan (陳韻雲) and former chairman of the Jockey Club Board Mr Thomas Brian Stevenson were named members of the Council with effect from January, 2016.


Anti-Occupy figures to join police watchdog

CY Leung appointed two new members, namely Mr Jose-Antonio Maurellet (毛樂禮) and Mr Barry Chin Chi-yung (錢志庸), to the Independent Police Complaints Council for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2016.

Chin is a member of pro-Beijing group ‘Silent Majority’ which hosted anti-Occupy press conferences during the Umbrella Movement. Maurellet, meanwhile, is a lawyer who helped Kwoon Chung Bus to apply for court injunction to ban occupations in Central and Admiralty.

The IPCC earlier endorsed a complaint against retired superintendent Franklin Chu who allegedly assault a pedestrian with his baton during the Movement.

Appointments to new Independent Insurance Authority

The Government announced the a list of eight persons to the newly established Independent Insurance Authority, with Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi (鄭慕智) as chairman and rent as Non-Executive Directors for a term of three years from December 28, 2015.

Cheng is a senior partner of a law firm and former Chairman of the Education Commission, government-appointed Director on the Board of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, and founding Vice-Chairman of the Estate Agents Authority.

The seven directors are incumbent member of the Consumer Council and chairman of Management Committee of the Consumer Legal Action Fund Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan (陳家殷), professor of Finance of the Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Chan Wai-sum (陳偉森), former member of the Hong Kong Tourism Board and the Planning and Development Committee of the Travel Industry Council Ms Chitty Cheung Fung-ting (張鳳婷), former member of the General Committee of the Insurance Claims Complaints Bureau Mr Kenneth Kwok Tsun-wa  (郭振華), Independent Director of the Travel Industry Council and a former Chairman of the Estate Agents Authority’s Disciplinary Committee Mr Ma Ho-fai (馬豪輝), former Chairman of the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers Mr James Wong Chien-kuo (王建國), and former KPMG chairman Mr Stephen Yiu Kin-wah (姚建華).


Other appointments: Education Commission, Banking Review Tribunal and more

Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council Mr Sin Kim-wai (冼儉偉) was appointed to the Education Commission for a two-year term with effect from January 1, 2016.

Vice-chairperson of Hang Seng Bank (China) Mrs Dorothy Sit Kwan Yin-ping (薛關燕萍) and former president of the Law Society of Hong Kong Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak (葉禮德) were named members of the Banking Review Tribunal for a term of three years from January 1, 2016.

The Government appointed four new non-official members to the Business Facilitation Advisory Committee. They are Associate Professor of the University of Hong Kong’s Department of Law Mr Thomas Cheng (鄭建韓), President and Executive Director of Dorsett Hospitality International Ms Winnie Chiu (邱詠筠), Chief Executive Officer of Radica Systems Mr Francis Kwok (郭正光), and Chairman of Tsui Wah Holdings Mr Lee Yuen-hong (李遠康).

Chairman and Founder of KK Yeung Management Consultants Mr Anthony Yeung Kwok-ki (楊國琦) will become the new head of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee alongside six new members – Designate Sham Shui Po District Council member Ms Chan Wing-yan (陳穎欣; the newcomer who defeated veteran pan-dem Frederick Fung); Founding president of Hong Kong Rehabilitation Power Mr Leo Lam Cheung-wai (林章偉); President of the Hong Kong Association of the Deaf Ms Lau Lai-fong (劉麗芳); Vice-chairman of the Direction Association for the Handicapped Mr Willy Law Wai-cheung (羅偉祥); Businessman and son-in-law of Ms Chang Hui-Mei (張慧美; former head of Po Leung Kuk) Mr Eric Lee Sai-kit (李世傑); and Chief Executive Officer of St James’ Settlement Mrs Cynthia Luk Ho Kam-wan (陸何錦環).