Harbour Crossings March 11

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Competition watchdog CO steps down; Andrew Kam resigns as HK Disneyland Managing Director; Hong Kong Press Council elects new leadership.


Competition Commission CEO steps down

Competition Commission chairwoman Anna Wu Hung-yuk (胡紅玉) announced on Monday that the commission’s Chief Executive Officer since July 2014, Stanley Wong, stepped down for health reasons on the same day but would stay as honorary advisor.

The commission’s senior executive director, Rose Webb assumed the post with immediate effect until September 2 next year.

The Commission’s legal power only came into effect mid-December last year.


First Chinese managing director for HK Disneyland resigns after a profit rollercoaster

Andrew Kam (金民豪), former Hong Kong Disneyland Resort managing director, resigned from the post for “personal reasons” after working there for eight years.

Kam is first ethnic Chinese to hold and post, and led the park to its first profit – HK$109 million – in the 2011/12 fiscal year since it opened in 2005. However, the park made a net loss of HK$148 million in 2014/2015.

Vice president of operations Samuel Lau (劉永基) is taking over his position. Lau was born in Hong Kong and educated in the US. He joined Disney in 2010 and previously held a vice president position in transportation in the Walt Disney World Resort in Florida.


Former Law Society president elected as HK Press Council chairman

Wong Kwai-huen (王桂壎) was elected as the new chairman of the Hong Kong Press Council. He replaced Professor Joseph Chan (陳韜文), Research Professor of School of Journalism and Communication in the Chinese University of Hong Kong and chairman for the council for the past ten years.

Wong was President of the Law Society of Hong Kong between 2009 and 2011, and Chairman of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre. He is also a member of the Board of the Hong Kong Hospital Authority and the Competition Commission.

Professor Chan was named honorary president of the council.

The Hong Kong Press Council is a voluntary self-monitoring body formed in July 2000. Current members include Hong Kong Commercial Daily, Sing Tao Daily, SCMP, Hong Kong Economic Times, Ming Pao, Wen Wai Po, China Daily, Ta Kung Pao and the Standard.