Harbour Crossings March 24

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

New term of TPB announced; SFC names new Executive Director; Four Senior Counsel appointed.


12 new members for Town Planning Board

The Chief Executive announced a new term of Town Planning Board (TPB) with effect from April 1, 2016, to March 31, 2018.

Twelve new names made it to the list of non-official members, they include:

  • Cheung Kwok-kit (張國傑), Partner, Deacons
  • Wilson Fung Ying-wai (馮英偉), former Group Financial Controller of Jardine Matheson Limited and former President of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Dr Hau Chi-hang (侯智恒博士), Principal Lecturer, School of Biological Sciences, HKU
  • Thomas Ho On-sing (何安誠), former Chief Executive of Gammon Construction and former President of Hong Kong Construction Association
  • Ip Tin-yau (葉天祐), Chairman of Social Security Appeal Board
  • Alex Lai Ting-hong (黎庭康), Partner, Deacons, member of Management Committee of the Consumer Legal Action Fund, Housing Appeal Panel and Transport Tribunal Panel
  • Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang (李國祥醫生), Treasurer of Council, PolyU, member of Human Organ Transplant Appeal Board Panel
  • Stephen Liu Ling-hong (廖凌康), Councillor, PolyU
  • Professor Liu Tik-sang (廖迪生教授), Associate Professor, HKUST, member of Intangible Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee
  • Winnie Ng Wing-mui (伍穎梅), Councillor, Better Hong Kong Foundation and Deputy Chairman, Roadshow Holdings Limited
  • Sandy Wong Hang-yee (黃幸怡), Vice Chairman of Human Organ Transplant Board and member of IPCC
  • Franklin Yu (余烽立), member of Harbourfront Commission and senior member of Hong Kong Institute of Architects


Thomas Atkinson tapped as Executive Director of Securities and Futures Commission

The Financial Secretary appointed Thomas Atkinson as Executive Director (Enforcement) of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) for a term of three years from May 3, 2016, to May 2, 2019.

Mr Atkinson was Director of the Enforcement Branch of the Ontario Securities Commission in Canada, the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Market Regulation Services Inc from 2001 to 2007. Before that he was the Vice President of the Regulation Services of the Toronto Stock Exchange from 1996 to 2001.

Mr Atkinson will replace Mark Steward, who left the SFC in September 2015.


Chief Secretary announces appointment of first female Senior Counsel from Department of Justice

Chief Secretary Geoffrey Ma announced the appointment of four Senior Counsel, among them the first ever female SC from the Department of Justice Anna Lai Yuen-kee (黎婉姬). Ms Lai is currently Senior Assistant Director of Public Prosecutions at the DoJ.

The other three new SC are Richard Khaw Wei-kiang (許偉強), José-Antonio Maurellet (毛樂禮), Robert Alexander Stock (司徒歷). Mr Khaw was a counsel for the Commission of Inquiry into Excess Lead Found in Drinking Water. Mr Maurellet is a barrister who helped Kwoon Chung Bus to apply for court injunction to ban occupations in Central and Admiralty and was recently appointed to the Independent Police Complaints Council by CY Leung. Mr Stock, meanwhile, is a barrister at the Temple Chambers and son of Non-Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal Frank Stock (司徒敬).