Harbour Crossings April 8

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Membership for HK Maritime and Port Board, Advisory Committee on Legal Advice for Unrepresented Litigants announced; Appointments to Commission on Youth, Committee on Promotion of Civic Education.


Government announces membership of Advisory Committee on Legal Advice for Unrepresented Litigants

The Government announced the appointments of the Chairman and members of the newly established Advisory Committee on Legal Advice for Unrepresented Litigants for a two-year term from April 8, 2016 to  April 7, 2018. The advisory committee is led by Justice Pang Kin-kee (彭鍵基). Pang is Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court. He is also heading the Registration of Persons Tribunal, the Long-term Prison Sentences Review Board, the Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Processions and former Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission.

Members include pro-Beijing District Councillor Maggie Chan Man-ki (陳曼琪), HKU Department of Law Professor Dr Anne Cheung Shann-yue (張善喻), President of the Law Society of Hong Kong Stephen Hung Wan-shun (熊運信), barrister Giles Surman (蘇明哲), member of Buildings Appeal Tribunal Panel Wan Wai-ming (溫偉明), Partner at Ernst & Young (HK) Catherine Yen Kai-shun (嚴嘉洵), as well as HKIAC accredited family mediator and social worker Amarantha Yip Yun-wan (葉潤雲).


Appointments to HK Maritime and Port Board announced

The Government announced appointments to the new Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board (HKMPB), chaired by the Secretary for Transport and Housing, with 19 non-official members for a term of two years.

The non-official members are: Andy Tung Lieh-cheung (董立均), Irving Koo Yee-yin (顧爾言), David Cheng Fu-kwok (鄭輔國), Paul Chan Kei-yan (陳基恩), Agnes Choi Heung-kwan (蔡香君), Patrick Fong Yiu-fai (方耀輝), Michael Goh Pek-yang (吳伯炎), Sean Aloysius Kelly (柯禮賢), Kwok Kwok-chuen (郭國全), Rosita Lau Sui-yee (劉瑞儀), Li Lian-jun (李連君), Venus Lun Yuen-ha (倫婉霞), Iris Mak Kam-yu (麥淦瑜), Jimmy Ng Jim-mi (伍占美), John Bruce Rae-Smith (雷名士), Xiong Ge-bing (熊戈兵), Elsa Yeung Mei-fong (楊美芳), Frankie Yick Chi-ming (易志明), and Gerry Yim Lui-fai (嚴磊輝).


Six new members appointed to Commission on Youth

Six persons joined the Commission on Youth chaired Lau Ming-wai (劉鳴煒) for a two-year term starting from April 1, 2016. They include Headmaster of Heung To Middle School Dr Wong Chung-leung (黃頌良), former HKIEd and PolyU graduate and active community service participant Alex Tou Yat-lung (竇一龍), member of Housing Appeal Panel and Advisory Committee on Enhancing Self-Reliance Through District Partnership Programme Kenneth Leung Yuk-wai (梁毓偉), Hong Kong-based game developer Gabriel Pang Tsz-kit (彭子傑), FTU District Councillor Yiu Kwok-wai (姚國威), as well as DAB District Councillor Nixie Lam Lam (林琳).


Eight members join Committee on Promotion of Civic Education

The Government announced the appointment of eight new members to the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education (CPCE) for a two-year term starting from April 1, 2016. They are CUHK Public Health specialist Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang (陳英凝教授), pan-dem District Councillor Andrew Chiu Ka-yin (趙家賢), son of Rita Fan Andrew Fan Chun-wah (范駿華), New People’s Party District Councillor Sammi Fu Hiu-lam (傅曉琳), DAB District Councillor Roger Kwan Ho-yeung (關浩洋), daughter of FC Packaging chairman Lo Foo-cheung Bella Lo Sung-yi (羅頌宜), member of Betting and Lotteries Commission and IPCC Observers Helen Lu Hai (陸海), and former appointed Yuen Long District Councillor Tang Kwong-shing (鄧廣成).


New chairman of human reproductive technology council appointed

The Government appointed Dr Matthew Ng (吳馬太) and Ir Priscilla Wong Wai-yee (黃慧儀) as Chairperson and member of the Council on Human Reproductive Technology respectively for a term of three years, with effect from April 11, 2016.

Dr Ng also seats on the Appeal Board on Closure Orders (Immediate Health Hazard) and is chairman of the Council for the AIDS Trust Fund. Ir Wong, meanwhile, is a member of the Buildings Energy Efficiency Appeal Board Panel since 2011.