Harbour Crossings June 2

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

New members to the Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony

Three new members were appointed to the Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony (CPRH), which was announced on 31 May. Their terms begin on 1 June of this year and will run until 31 May, 2019.

The new members are as follows:

Ping Somporn Bevan is part of the charity Enrich HK, and has worked for blue chip multinational corporations in the areas of shipping, aviation and education. She studied at Thammasat University in Bangkok in the department of English Language and Literature.

Poonam Vijayprakash Mehta is the President of Be the Change, an organisation dedicated to giving aid to ethnic minorities in Hong Kong. She is an educator, a trustee of Dreamz Home Orphanage Mumbai, and a core member of Sage Foundation Mumbai India.

Hafiz Mohammad is an educator at Hong Kong Taoist Association Wun Tsuen School (HKTAWTS).

Law Reform Commission appoints new member

On 29 May, the Law Reform Commission (LRC) announced that Ms Alexandra Lo will become a new member of the Commission from 1 June, 2017 for a term lasting three years. Ms Lo will be replacing Mrs Eleanor Ling, who will be completing her second three year term as a member of LRC. Ms Lo is a solicitor with extensive experience in the field of banking and financial services.

Creation of the Working Group on eMPF

On 2 June the government announced the creation of the Working Group on eMPF that would aid with the development of an electronic infrastructure surrounding the functioning of the scheme administration of the Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF). The appointed members of the Working Group are listed below.


Eddie Cheung Kwok-choi, Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Cheng Yan-chee, Chief Corporate Affairs Officer, Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority


Stephen Fung Yu-kay, Chief Executive Officer, AIA Company (Trustee) Limited
Chu Wing-yiu, Chief Executive Officer, BOCI-Prudential Trustee Limited
Lau Ka-shi, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Bank Consortium Trust Company Limited
Li Siu-kei, Chief Executive, Bank of Communications Trustee Limited
Raymond Ng Kai-man, Director and Chief Executive, Bank of East Asia (Trustees) Limited
Thomas Tam Tsz-kin, Chief Executive Director, China Life Trustees Limited
Wilsome Chow Chung-kin, General Manager, FWD Pension Trust Limited
Andrew Law Lai-wah, Chief Executive Officer, HSBC Institutional Trust Services (Asia) Limited
Phillip Andrew Bretnall, Chief Executive Officer, HSBC Provident Fund Trustee (Hong Kong) Limited
Luzia Rosa Hung, Chief Executive Officer, Manulife Provident Funds Trust Company Limited
Jonas Wong Chun-leung, President, MassMutual Trustees Limited
Arthur John Bacci, Chief Executive Officer, Principal Trust Company (Asia) Limited
Andrew Michael Gordon, Managing Director, Asia, RBC Investor Services Trust Hong Kong Limited
Cynthia Lee Mei-fun, Chief Executive Officer, Sun Life Trustee Company Limited
Victor Lam Wai-kiu, Deputy Government Chief Information Officer (Infrastructure and Operations)
Cynthia Hui Wai-yee, Executive Director (Supervision), Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority