Harbour Crossings October 23rd

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

I quit!
A number of environmentalists quit their seats in several Government’s committees to join the civil disobedience action in the Umbrella Movement. Chu Hon-keung (朱漢強) and Katty Law (羅雅寧) left the Support Group on Municipal Solid Waste Charging as did Lo Sze Ping (盧思騁) from the Strategy Sub-committee. Both committees operate under the Council for Sustainable Development.

Leila Chan (陳曉蕾) and Bonnie Tang Man-lam (鄧敏琳) left the Food Wise Hong Kong Steering Committee, and Lam Tsz-ching (林梓晴) quit the Environmental Campaign Committee.

10 Democratic Party District Councilors resigned from their respective district’s Fight Crime Committee after videos showed Ken Tsang beaten by 7 police officers while his hands were tied. They are James To (涂謹申, Yau Tsim Mong District), Leung Kwok-wah (梁國華, Kwai Tsing District), Wong Kin-shing (黃堅成, Central and Western District), Wong Kwok-tung (黃國桐, Wong Tai Sin District), Law Sai-yan (羅世恩, North District), Lam Wing-yin (林咏然, Sai Kung District), Catherine Wong (黃麗嫦, Tuen Mun District), Josephine Chan (陳樹英, Tuen Mun District), Kwong Chun-yu (鄺俊宇, Yuen Long District) and Chan Man-kin (陳汶堅, Kwun Tong District).

Appointment of Panel Judge under Interception of Communications and Surveillance Ordinance
Justice Mohan Tarachand Bharwaney (包華禮) will succeed the retiring Justice Azizul Rahman Suffiad (石輝) as a Panel Judge under the Ordinance for a term of three years commencing on October 25th. Justice Bharwaney was called to the Bar in Hong Kong in 1978 and in Australia in 1991. He was appointed Senior Counsel in 2008. He was appointed as Judge of the Court of the First Instance of the High Court in 2010.

Appointment of SFC non-executive director
Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau (黃天祐) was re-appointed as a non-executive director of the Securities and Futures Commission for a term of two years. Dr Wong is an Executive Director and a Deputy Managing Director of COSCO Pacific Ltd.

New MTR Board directors
James Kwan Yuk-choi (關育材), Lucia Li Li Ka-lai (李李嘉麗) and Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun (鄧國斌) were appointed by MTRCL as new independent non-executive directors. Permanent Secretary for Development (Works), Wai Chi-sing (韋志成), was appointed by the Chief Executive as non-executive director to sit in the board.

Appointment to Working Group on Convention and Exhibition Industries and Tourism under Economic Development Commission
Margaret Fong Shun-man (方舜文), the new Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, was appointed as a member of the Working Group to replace Frederick Lam Tin-fuk (林天福), the previous TDC chief who became the CEO of the Airport Authority this June.

Appointment to Standing Committee on Directorate Salaries and Conditions of Service
Dr Eliza Chan Ching-har (陳清霞) and Pang Yiu-kai (彭耀佳) were re-appointed as members. Dr Chan is a lawyer and a member of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference and she sits on many Government’s committees, on account of her intellect, worth ethic, charm and status as a University of Victoria Distinguished Alumni. Mr Pang is currently the CEO of Hongkong Land.