Harbour Crossings 15 July 2016

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

URA(uthority) head joins board of URF(und); Deputy FHKI chair assumes post in Labour Advisory Board.

Urban Renewal Authority head appointed as board director of associate fund

Wai Chi-sing (韋志成), former Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) and current CEO of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), has been appointed to the Board of Urban Renewal Fund.

The URF, with an endowment of HK$500 million from the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), is set up to provide an independent funding source to support the operation of the social service teams that render assistance to the affected owners and tenants of the urban redevelopment projects implemented by the URA. The URF also supports the planning and related studies proposed by District Urban Renewal Fora and heritage preservation and district revitalisation related initiatives proposed by non-government organisations and other stakeholders in the overall context of urban renewal.

Meanwhile, the government has appointed Michael Ma Chiu-tsee (馬昭智) as Executive Director of the URA from 15 July, 2016 to 14 July, 2017. Ma joined the URA in 2006 and was previously Director, Planning and Design.


Former Sham Shui Po DC chairman to represent FHKI in Labour Advisory Board

Former Sham Shui Po District Council chairman Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah (郭振華) has been appointed as a member to the Labour Advisory Board (LAB) representing the Federation of Hong Kong Industries (FHKI) for the period from 8 July, 2016, to 31 December, 2016, in place of the late Stanley Lau Chin-ho (劉展灝). Kwok is a Deputy Chairman of the General Committee of the FHKI.

By virtue of his LAB membership, Kwok will also sit on the Standard Working Hours Committee as an ex-officio member during his tenure.


Five new appointments to Financial Reporting Review Panel

Three new convenors and two new members will join the Financial Reporting Review Panel with effect from 16 July for a three-year term. They are: Eugene Fung Ting-sek (馮庭碩), Chairperson of the Banking Review Tribunal; Dr Kam Pok-man (甘博文), former CEO of the Financial Reporting Council; Carmelo Lee Ka-sze (李嘉士), former Chairman of the HKEx Listing Committee; Carlyon John Knight-Evans, a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers; and Lee Yin-toa (李彥韜), a partner at Ernst & Young.

The government have also re-appointed four convenors and 23 members to the panel.