Harbour Crossings August 5

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

CY picks his OBOR lady; New chiefs for RTHK, Productivity Council, SFC and Science and Tech Parks.

Government appoints Belt and Road Commissioner

Leung Chun-ying has appointed Yvonne Choi Ying-pik (蔡瑩璧) as the Commissioner for Belt and Road with effect from 1 August 2016, until 30 June 2017

Choi will not be remunerated for taking up the post and will report directly to the CE.

She is a retired civil servant who joined the government in 1973. She had served in various positions, including Deputy Representative in the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Geneva, Deputy Director General of Trade, Deputy Secretary for Trade and Industry, Director of Information Services and Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development before retiring in 2012.


Pro-Beijing dentist to lead RTHK advisors’ board

Eugene Chan Kin-keung (陳建強) will assume the post of Chairman of the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) Board of Advisors for a new term of two years with effect from 1 September 2016.

Chan is a member of the board since September 2009. He was chairman of a pro-establishment Association of Hong Kong Professionals and had organised several exchange programmes to the mainland for professionals. He was also a part-time member of the Central Policy Unit until 2011.


Deputy Chairman of FHKI to lead Productivity Council

The government has appointed Willy Lin Sun-mo (林宣武) as Chairman of the Hong Kong Productivity Council (HKPC) for two years starting from 6 August 2016.

Lin is currently a Deputy Chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Shippers’ Council. He was Chairman of the Hong Kong Export Credit Insurance Corporation Advisory Board, and a member of the Hong Kong Logistics Development Council, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, the Manpower Development Committee and the Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board.


Albert Wong promoted as Science and Technology Parks CEO

Albert Wong Hak-keung (黃克強) was tapped the new CEO of Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, succeeding Allen Ma Kam-sing (馬錦星) who retired on 21 July 2016.

Wong joined the Corporation as Chief Corporate Development Officer on 1 February 2016. He has over 30 years of commercial experience with various global enterprises such as Schlumberger, Caterpillar, Emerson Electric and General Electric.


SFC announces new executive director

Christina Choi (蔡鳳儀) has become the new Executive Director (Investment Products) of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) for a term of three years from 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2019.

Choi is currently the Senior Director (Investment Products) of the SFC. Before joining the SFC, she was a Partner in Clifford Chance from 2001 to 2004.


Two new appointments to Health Care and Promotion Fund Committee

The government has announced the appointment of two new members to the Health Care and Promotion Fund Committee for a term of one year with effect from 1 August, 2016.

They are Professor David Man Wai-kwong (文偉光) from the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Professor Martin Wong Chi-sang (黃至生) from the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.