Harbour Crossings October 14

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

LegCo updates; New leadership for BPA, Civil Human Rights Front; Bernard Chan, Winnie Tam joins WKCDA.

Pro-establishment camp dominates Finance Committee

The pro-establishment camp has claimed both chairman and vice-chairman posts of the LegCo Finance Committee, with Insurance lawmaker Chan Kin-por (陳健波) and Michael Tien Puk-sun (田北辰) of New People’s Party filling the posts respectively.

DAB chairperson Starry Lee Wai-king (李慧琼), meanwhile, will chair the House Committee with the vice-chairman post being left to Dennis Kwok Wing-hang (郭榮鏗) of Civic Party as a ‘gesture of goodwill’ to the pro-democracy camp.

The opposition has refused the offer from the pro-establishment camp to chair a handful of minor panels as negotiations to allocate key LegCo posts broke down.


New leadership for BPA, Civil Human Rights Front

Lo Wai-kwok (盧偉國) has assumed post as the new chairman of the Business and Professionals Alliance for Hong Kong, replacing Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen (梁君彥) who resigned after becoming LegCo president. Leung has been raised to honorary president of the party.

The party’s newly elected legislator, Lau Ip-keung (劉業強) has taken up the role of vice-chairman alongside Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung (林健鋒), Christopher Cheung Wah-fung (張華峰) and Priscilla Leung Mei-fun (梁美芬), for a total of four vice-chairs.

Meanwhile, Au Nok-hin (區諾軒) of Democratic Party has been elected new head of the Civil Human Rights Front. The organisation traditionally prefers its Chairman to be free of party affiliations, but none were to be found on this occasion.


Bernard Chan joins WKCDA Board

ExCo member Bernard Charnwut Chan (陳智思) and Bar Association chairperson Winnie Tam Wan-chi (譚允芝) have been appointed to the Board of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority (WKCDA) for a two-year term starting from 23 October, 2016.

Also joining the board are Anita Fung Yuen-mei (馮婉眉), chairperson of the Hong Kong Association of Banks, Wilson Fung Ying-wai (馮英偉), former Group Financial Controller of Jardine Matheson and former president of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and Dr Fu Yuning (傅育寧), chairman of China Resources Holdings.


Police senior officer involved in Mong Kok unrest to be promoted

Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police Lau Yip-shing (劉業成) has been appointed as Deputy Commissioner with effect from 17 October, 2016, upon the retirement of Deputy Commissioner (Operations) Wong Chi-hung (黃志雄).

Mr Lau, 55, joined the Hong Kong Police as an Inspector in 1984. He was promoted to Senior Superintendent in 2002, Chief Superintendent in 2006, Assistant Commissioner of Police in 2010 and Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police in 2013. He is currently the Director of Operations. Between 2000 and 2003, he was seconded to the Hong Kong Airport Authority, during which he was responsible for overseeing aviation security services in the Hong Kong International Airport.

Mr Lau was said to have heavily involved in the handling of the Mong Kok unrest in February.


New District Officer for Tai Po

Former Assistant Director of Home Affairs Andy Lui (呂少珠) has assumed the post of District Officer (Tai Po) on 11 October, 2016, succeeding Bassanio So (蘇植良).

Ms Lui joined the Executive Officer Grade in 1982. She has served in various bureaux and departments including the former City and New Territories Administration, the former Agriculture and Fisheries Department, the former Municipal Services Branch, the former Recreation and Culture Branch, the Civil Service Bureau, the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau, the Government Property Agency, the Department of Justice and the Secretariat, Commissioner on Interception of Communications and Surveillance.