Harbour Crossings Jan 20

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

New appointments to Economic Development Commission; Government names new Director of Buildings.

New appointments to Economic Development Commission and Working Groups

The Government announced on 16 January the re-appointments and new appointments to the Economic Development Commission (EDC) and its four Working Groups, namely the Working Group on Transportation (TWG); the Working Group on Convention and Exhibition Industries and Tourism (CETWG); the Working Group on Manufacturing Industries, Innovative Technology, and Cultural and Creative Industries (MICWG); and the Working Group on Professional Services (PSWG), for a period of two years with effect from 17 January, 2017.

New appointments to the EDC are CCP admirer and venture capitalist Eric Li (李世默), Yue Yi (岳毅), Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited, and Mega Securities Chairman and KMT Standing Committee member Dr Darby Liu Ta-pei (劉大貝).

Meanwhile, pro-Beijing commentator and ExCo member Cheung Chi-kong (張志剛) was appointed to the PSWG.


Government appoints new Director of Buildings

Cheung Tin-cheung (張天祥), Deputy Director of Buildings, will take up the post of Director of Buildings on 23 January, 2017, when Hui Siu-wai (許少偉) will proceed on pre-retirement leave.

Cheung joined the government as a Student Building Surveyor in September 1982 and was promoted to Chief Building Surveyor in September 2005, to Government Building Surveyor in July 2012 and to Deputy Director of Buildings in June 2015.


Civic Exchange announces new board chairman

Civic Exchange, an independent public policy think tank, has appointed Evan Auyang as Chairman of the Board.

Auyang is the Managing Director and Head of Asia-Pacific for Gerson Lehrman Group and serves on the Board of the American Chamber of Commerce and on Advisory Committee on Corruption of the Independent Commission Against Corruption. He is also Advisor of Our Hong Kong Foundation.